AWIEF Announces Finalists for 2023 AWIEF Awards

The Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) is delighted to announce the finalists for its 2023 AWIEF Awards.

Launched in 2017, the prestigious annual AWIEF Awards is an initiative to recognise, honour, and celebrate women entrepreneurs and business owners in Africa across various industry sectors for their achievements and contribution to the continent’s inclusive economic growth and social development.

An international and independent Panel of Judges selected the 24 finalists across 8 categories. These outstanding women founders and business leaders operate in a diverse range of sectors and represent companies from 14 different African countries: Cameroon, Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The 2023 AWIEF Awards winners will be announced and celebrated at a special ceremony and gala dinner at the AWIEF2023 Conference and Awards, taking place on 9 and 10 November at the Kigali Convention Centre, Kigali, Rwanda.

AWIEF Founder and CEO, Irene Ochem, said: “Given the huge number and calibre of the nominations received this year, it is clear that female entrepreneurship and business leadership is thriving across Africa. It is our honour to recognise and celebrate the achievements and contributions of these women to the inclusive growth of their respective sectors, their countries and the continent’s economy.”

A member of the 2023 AWIEF Awards Panel of Judges, John-Paul Iwuoha, Founder of Smallstarter Africa, said: “As a Judge, I was thoroughly impressed by the quality of applications in all the categories. It is great to see how AWIEF continues to attract innovative women across Africa who are creating enormous value for society.”

The finalists for the 2023 AWIEF Awards are (listed in alphabetical order):


  • Salamba Diene, CEO, BIOSENE SARL, Senegal
  • Joyce Kamande, Co-founder & CEO, Safi Organics, Kenya
  • Jovia Kisakye, CEO, Sparkle Agro Brand, Uganda


  • Norah Magero, Founder & CEO, Drop Access Limited, Kenya
  • Kathryn Malherbe, CEO, Med Sol AI Solutions, South Africa
  • Kidist Tesfaye, Founder & CEO, YeneHealth, Ethiopia


  • Chinwendu Nweke, CEO, Bridge Merchant Enterprise, Nigeria
  • Forget Shareka, Founder, Chashi Foods, Zimbabwe
  • Nonopa Tenza, Founder & MD, Kevinot Farming, South Africa


  • Linda Mabhena-Olagunju, Founder & CEO, DLO Energy Resources Group, South Africa
  • Ifeoma Malo, CEO, Clean Technology Hub, Nigeria
  • Margaret Yainkain Mansaray, Founder & CEO, Women in Energy Sierra Leone Limited, Sierra Leone


  • Yasmina Belahsen, Founder, MayaDigital, Morocco
  • Gladys Chibanda, Founder & CEO, Krafted Ink, Zimbabwe
  • Ararat Tamirat, Founder & GM, Tuba By Ararat, Ethiopia


  • Damilola Aminat Adeyemi, Co-founder & CEO, D-Olivette Global Enterprise, Nigeria
  • Kayumba Chiwele, Founder & Principal Psychologist, MindAid Zambia, Zambia
  • Mundih Noelar Njohjam, Medical Doctor, Epilepsy Awareness, Aid and Research Association, Cameroon


  • Aya Chebbi, Founder & President, Nalafem Collective, Tunisia
  • Zulfat Mukarubega, Founder, University of Tourism, Technology and Business Studies, Rwanda
  • Catherine Wijnberg, Founder & CEO, Fetola, South Africa


  • Rina Gunter, Founding Partner, Gunter Attorneys, South Africa
  • Dalia Ibrahim, CEO, Nahdet Misr Publishing House, Egypt
  • Anke Weisheit, Co-founder & Chair, PHARMBIOTRAC, Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Uganda

Congratulations to all our finalists! We are honoured to celebrate these women founders and business leaders for their achievements and contribution to the continent’s inclusive economic growth and social development.

Tickets for the AWIEF2023 Conference and Awards are available at:

Read the official Press Release on APO Group.


3 thoughts on “AWIEF Announces Finalists for 2023 AWIEF Awards”

  1. Dear sir,
    I will like to know when the registration for 2024 will commence.
    Bless you for all you do for humanity

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *