L’Oréal–UNESCO awards fellowships to 14 African female scientists

The L’Oréal-UNESCO Women in Science programme awarded fellowships to 14 extraordinary women in Africa for their notable works in science.

The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards is an initiative that aims to raise the status and position of women in science by acknowledging and appreciating researchers who have contributed to scientific progress. Each laureate who has been recognised, receives a grant of $100,000 USD.

The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science 2018 Sub-Saharan Africa Fellowship ceremony was held this year in Nairobi. This year’s ceremony was the ninth installment. During the ceremony, the foundation made sure to make mention of its commitment towards facilitating the development of African women in science.

“The world needs science, and science needs women: nowhere is this more clearly illustrated than in African countries, which face significant challenges including climate change, access to energy or food security. Science and technology are key to addressing these challenges, and this will not be possible without women. Their talents and perspectives enrich relevant research,” said Alexandra Palt, executive vice president of the L’Oréal Foundation.

She also added that moving the ceremony to Nairobi which had been previously held in South Africa was an effort to reinforce their commitment to giving opportunities to women across Sub-Saharan Africa,

The fellowship winners are:

Olanike Akinduyite – Federal University of Technology, Nigeria.

SpecialtyComputer science.

Title of projectFingerprint-based key-binding bio-metric cryptosystem.

Rima Beeso – University of Mauritius, Mauritius
Speciality: Biology – Biochemistry
Project: Investigation of the biochemical characterisation, antioxidant, antimicrobial and anticarcinogenic potentials of some selected marine invertebrate species.

Takalani Cele – UNISA, South Africa
Speciality: Environmental science – Condensed matter physics
Title of project: Platinum group metals (PGM) nano-particles & hybrid nano-composites by gamma radiolysis/EISA.

Dr Marilize Everts – University of Pretoria, South Africa
Speciality: Mechanical engineering – Fluid mechanics
Title of project: Heat transfer and pressure drop of high viscosity fluids in solar receiver tubes.

Charlene Goosen – Stellenbosch University, South Africa
Speciality: Health Sciences – Epidemiology
Title of project: Effect of oral iron supplementation on the gut microbiome in HIV-infected children.

Lerato Hlaka – University of Cape Town, South Africa
Speciality: Health sciences – Infectious diseases
Title of project: Characterization of minor groove binders (MGBs) as novel lead compounds and the use of non-ionic surfactant vesicles (NIVs) to improve their efficacy for treatment of tuberculosis.

Harshna Jivan – University of Witwatersrand, South Africa
Speciality: Physics – Nuclear physics
Title of project: Study on the influence of nuclear deformation on the pygmy dipole resonance in samarium isotopes.

Dr Priscilla Kolibea Mante – Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana
Specialty: Environmental science – Neuroscience
Title of project: Anticonvulsant activity of cryptolepine and its solid-lipid nanoparticles in the management of neurocysticercosis-induced epilepsy.

Gladys Mosomtai – International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE), Kenya
Specialty: Environmental science – Geoscience
Title of project: Influence of landscape dynamics, microclimate variability and agronomic practices in the coffee pathosystem of smallholder farms in Murang’a County, Kenya.

Fiona Mumoki – University of Pretoria, Kenya
Speciality: Biology – Entomology
Title of project: Role of brood pheromones in inhibiting dominance in Apis mellifera capensis reproductive parasites.

Shalena Naidoo – Stellenbosch University, South Africa
Specialty: Health sciences – Immunology – Virology
Title of project: The Longitudinal perspective on the impact of immune Status on the HIV-1 latent reservoir and neurocognitive outcomes in virologically suppressed children.

Olaperi Okuboyejo – University of Witwatersrand, South Africa

Specialty: Computer science – Artificial intelligence
Title of project: Enhanced automatic feedback generation for the learning of regular expressions.

Andrea Wilson – University of Pretoria, South Africa
Speciality: Biology – Genomics
Title of project: Sexual reproduction in Huntiella species.

Madelien Wooding – University of Pretoria, South Africa
Speciality: Chemistry -Health sciences
Title of project: Chemical communication between the malaria-carrying mosquito, Anopheles arabiensis, and its human host.

Source: CP Africa.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *